Tuesday, October 14, 2008

Chu Ching-wu

Professor Paul Chu , native of Taishan, Guangdong but born in Changsha, Hunan, China in 1941, received his Bachelor of Science degree from National Cheng Kung University in Taiwan in 1962. He earned his Master of Science degree from Fordham University, New York in 1965, and completed his PhD degree at the in 1968. All of his three degrees are in physics.

After two years' performing industrial research with Bell Laboratories at Murray Hill, New Jersey, Prof. Chu was appointed Assistant Professor of Physics at Cleveland State University in 1970. He was subsequently promoted to Associate Professor and Professor of Physics in 1973 and 1975, respectively.

He took up an appointment as Professor of Physics at the University of Houston in 1979. After his historic discovery of superconductivity above 77 K in in 1987, he was appointed the Director of the Texas Center for Superconductivity. He has served as the T. L. L. Temple Chair of Science at the same university since 1987. He also has served as a consultant and visiting staff member at Bell Laboratories, Los Alamos Scientific Laboratory, the Marshall Space Flight Center, Argonne National Laboratory, and DuPont at various time.

Prof. Chu has received numerous awards and honors for his outstanding work in superconductivity, including the US National Medal of Science and the International Prize for New Materials. He was an invited contributor to the White House National Millennium Time Capsule at the National Archives in 2000 and was selected the Best Researcher in the US by US News and World Report in 1990. He is a member of the U.S. , American Academy of Arts and Sciences, Chinese Academy of Sciences , Academia Sinica, Russian Academy of Engineering and the Third World Academy of Sciences. His research activities extend beyond superconductivity to magnetism and dielectrics.

He succeeded Professor Chia-Wei Woo as the President of The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology on 1 July 2001. He plans to step down as University President in September 2009.

|width=25% align=center|Preceded by:
Woo Chia-wei
|width=25% align=center| of
|width=25% align=center|Succeeded by:

No comments: